Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: J’accuse

December 5, 2012

When I was much, much younger, I made a lot of bold statements. One of them was about haircare. Specifically, I was never, ever, no matter what happened, going to get a buzz cut, or a crew cut, or anything like that. My statement followed close on the statement that I would never, ever go into the military. I didn’t go into the military–when I graduated high school, that was assumed to be what you did if you couldn’t get into college. But I just got done buzzing my hair for probably about the 100th time.

If the twelve-year-old me were to see today’s me, he would accuse me of being a sell-out to conformity. Today’s me would point to my sparsely populated pate, and mention about how agonizingly hot it is in Florida during the summer.

There are other things the younger me could accuse today’s me of. I sold out–left radio and what I love to do because I wasn’t ready to be broke for a few years while I paid my dues. There are dozens of things my parents did that I said I would never, ever do. I’ve done most of them, but not all of them. And I’ve become in some cases, what I used to hate about adults.

Today’s exercise is to hold an indictment of today’s version of you or one of your characters, at the hands of a younger version of you or your character. It’s a great way to get to know one of your characters a little better.

Time limit: 25 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,628 other followers

