Skip to content

All you needed to know about the conference (just three months away)

July 15, 2012

Be honest. In your daily life, what do you do if you want an overview of a subject? Any subject. Often, you go to the website in question and check the FAQs, right? Not only do FAQs answer your questions, but also they may show you options you didn’t know existed.

Check the Conference FAQs on the FWA website for information on the 2012 Florida Writers Conference October 19-21 at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary. You’ll find answers to some sixty-seven questions concerning conference registration, interviews, workshops, networking, meals, spouses and guests, door prizes, the RPLA Banquet, open mic, the Conference Bookstore, the Silent Auction, conference costs, and volunteering. Below is a sampling.

Registration

  • How do I register?
  • What should I bring?
  • What forms of payments are okay?
  • Does FWA make my hotel reservations?

Interviews

  • Are the guest agents and publishers open to receiving submissions?
  • How many interviews may I purchase?
  • How do I know which agent or publisher to interview?
  • May I purchase sessions even after I’ve registered?
  • How will I know when my interview is?
  • How should I prepare?
  • May I approach agents, acquisition editors, and publishers outside the interview room?

Workshops

  • How do I know which workshops to attend?
  • Do I have to preregister for the sessions?
  • May I leave a workshop to go to an interview?
  • Will there be any genre-specific workshops?
  • What do I do if two of the workshops I want are scheduled for the same time?
  • Will there be an agent/acquisition editor/publishing panel this year?
  • What’s the dress code?

The RPLA Banquet

  • What is the Royal Palm Literary Award competition?
  • Is there a separate charge for the Banquet?
  • What is the dress code for the Banquet?
  • The Conference Bookstore:
  • May I sell my book in the store even if I cannot attend the conference?
  • How do I get paid?
  • May I set up a display?
  • May I set up a book signing?
  • Is the bookstore open to the public?

Miscellany

  • What activities are available for guests not attending the conference?
  • May guests join me for meals or at the workshops?
  • Are all meals included in the registration fee?
  • May I request food and drink not on FWA’s menu?
  • When may I network with other writers?
  • How can I meet other writers within my genre?

The FAQs answer these and other questions. Have a gander!

What questions do you have about the conference?

Comments are closed.

