Skip to content

I want candy!

August 31, 2012

As I write this, I haven’t been working out very much lately. I messed up my Achilles tendon, and my right shoulder still hurts (and my just hurt forever). I’ve also given up caffeine, which made me cranky and not much in the mood for listening to someone telling me to dig deeper and bring it. Also, work has been a successful endeavor lately, but it has also been kind of draining.

Hey buddy, you know what you can do with those thumbs, don’t you?

So I’ve really focused on diet. Although I still splurge more than I should, this year I’ve made major breakthroughs on the dietary front. I take a meal-replacement shake called Shakeology for lunch most days. Fruits and vegetables have become a major part of my diet. I’ve even started eating rice and beans when there’s nothing else around (brown rice, of course). All of which brings me to the following point:

I want candy!

Seriously. I want some freaking candy. I want a pile of chocolate chip pancakes, following by a pallet of spiced gum drops, then maybe a dozen or so cannolis, and then half a dozen Boston cream donuts from Dunkin Donuts.

Except for the exaggeration, that’s not schtick. I love those things. They’re yummy food. They’re fun food. And there’s nothing like getting the mind and body going with a steaming hot cup of high test in the morning.

Fortunately (depending on your viewpoint), I’ve made some decisions to help me with other things that are more important than my undying devotion to Snickers Ice Cream.

It’s the same with writing. There are times when I want to do other things, but instead I choose to do this. I choose to spend my evenings and weekends sitting at my desk, exercising my fingers, rather than hanging out other places. It’s a choice we make because those other things, while they’re fun and bring great joy, don’t bring as much fulfillment.

5 Comments
  1. August 31, 2012 8:57 am

    Dieting sucks, no doubt, because it’s based on the idea of taking things away. You’re going for some life style changes — commendable! — but something that helps may be the concept of adding in pleasure: a moonlit walk at the ocean (tonight is Blue Moon!), fresh peaches, fitting in your favorite jeans, having someone read your work and say, wow, that moved me. I’m a pleasure seeker, sure, but I’m looking in new places.

    • Chris Hamilton permalink
      August 31, 2012 12:29 pm

      I don’t drink Blue Moon. (Just kidding.) I drink a meal replacement shake for lunch. It’s chocolate and when it’s mixed with peanut butter and banana, it is as good as anything there is to eat. But I will still periodically eat Chicago pizza, or cake or donuts or have some beer. Mostly, I need to choose to do that, rather than do it thoughtlessly.

  2. August 31, 2012 12:03 pm

    I’ve been caffeine free since April. The headaches have finally gone away but the focus I once had has yet to return. Most people I know don’t understand why I spend my days writing. They think I’m nuts. That I should be enjoying the beach, taking in a movie, going to a concert, or even playing water polo. But writing to them is foreign. It’s not the old warn t-shirt and favorite nail polish that I’ve grown to love. So they don’t understand. But that’s okay. I don’t expect them to get it.

    • Chris Hamilton permalink
      August 31, 2012 12:30 pm

      Sorry to hear about the focus thing. Ironically, for me, I’ve been more focused on writing and reading because I’m not sleepy all the time.

  3. Carla Manley permalink
    August 31, 2012 2:10 pm

    Try a magnetic bracelet for your shoulder. Mine was healed in 2 weeks.

Comments are closed.

