Skip to content

L is for long periods of time

September 7, 2012

The spring (really from about the second week of January until the beginning of June) is the period when my writing suffers most. That’s the time when the kids’ (now kid’s) activities really pick up. It’s the time when my parents are down for the winter. It’s the time when time is more precious than normal. I’ve whined about that before, so I don’t need to do it again.

It’s not that there isn’t time for writing; it’s that the time for writing is minimal. There are small snippets of time–twenty minutes here, maybe half an hour there. And maybe you can write that way. I can’t. I probably need ten minutes to get back to where I was–remember what everyone was doing. Unfortunately, my writing doesn’t include those need little Previously on synopses that started off ever episode of LOST.

(An aside–that’s not a bad idea. If you know you might not write for a few days, add a small synopsis of what’s going on with the characters so you don’t have to start your next writing session with a trip down memory lane.)

For me to get any serious writing done, I need long periods of time. Sunday afternoons during the summer are best. Once church is over, most Sundays are wide open and much, much writing can occur (if I have the discipline to stay off Facebook). Those are the times when my totals reach enormous amounts and I get lots of revision done. Those are the times when I can bury myself in the plot and the characters to the exclusion of lots of other things.

Those are the times when I am enormously productive.

I look back on the single life (and the married life before the kids came) and live through a little irritation about how many open, empty weekends I wasted doing things like going to the mall, just because, or watching whatever movie happened to be on channel 20.

On the other hand, short periods of time are perfect for blog posts–like this. Sometimes if you’ve got multiple types of writing to complete, you can figure out what works in the little blocks you have, and what works for the big long blocks.

Comments are closed.

