Skip to content

The Problem with Writing for Someone Else

October 12, 2012

I’ve been writing this blog for more than three and a half years, and in that time, we’ve covered a lot of different topics–most of them writing-related, but not all. But this blog hasn’t addressed a lot of topics. And it never will.

This is a writing blog. Specifically, it’s the Florida Writers Conference blog. Its purpose is to market the Florida Writers Conference–to get you, the reader, to come here often enough to see information about the conference, and to come. (It’s a great conference and you should come. You still can. The Orlando Lake Mary Marriott is a great venue and the conference is outstanding.)

As a writer of this blog, I have a lot of thoughts and deeply held convictions I can’t cover here. As a writer, you don’t care about my views on gay marriage, appropriate taxation, and interleague play in Major League Baseball. And if you do, you won’t see it here. It’s not appropriate.

And that’s the problem with writing for someone else. I’m very fortunate in writing this blog. The only limits I have are the ones I apply to myself. But I understand the limits of a writing blog. For me to indulge myself with posts about my daughter wanting to drive past a certain house or the glories of snow–that’s appropriate from time to time. But the other things–those aren’t for here.

When Arthur Conan Doyle was alive, he disliked Holmes so much he killed the man off, only to have to bring him back later on. Several writers use different names when they write other genres. And aside an occasional jibe at the, uhhh, Evil Empire, I tend not to indulge many of my personal viewpoints here.

Some of us writers hold our tongues about issues here and there, and some of us don’t. Sometimes you have to. Sometimes you chose not to.

Do you swallow some of the things you believe in because they aren’t appropriate? Or do you just let it rip?

3 Comments
  1. October 12, 2012 9:20 am

    Yes, both on my blog and on social media, I tend to keep my mouth shut more often than not, especially on controversial topics. Come to think of it, I tend to do this in person as well, because in the past when I have opened my big mouth about something, it just led to ill will, which is never productive.

  2. October 12, 2012 5:37 pm

    Swollow nothing. If you want to write about taxing gay baseball, I want to hear about it. As for the ‘Evil Empire,’ I hate the New York Yankees, too. Go Mariners!

    Controversy makes life more interesting, but I would never put a political yard sign up in front of my business, so I see your point.

  3. October 12, 2012 5:50 pm

    I liked that ‘Evil Empire’ drawing so much I put it on my website. I’m alwayz looking for good stuff. Writing should be fun.

Comments are closed.

