Skip to content

Short Story Tuesday: Her Last Kiss by Chrissy Jackson

March 5, 2013

If you’d like a built-in audience for your short story, please let me know. The rules are fairly simple. You must own the work you submit. It must be further along than a first draft. It shouldn’t be something you’re submitting to the FWA Collection. Other than that, if you submit, we’ll publish and people comment.

If you’re “other people,” feel free to critique what you see here, but if you critique, please consider offering your own work for a similar critique. And if possible, please make your comments constructive. Thanks!

Today’s short story is by FWA President Chrissy Jackson.

Her Last Kiss by Chrissy Jackson

“Oh, geez! Grandma, he kissed me.”

“You don’t sound too excited.”

“It was awful! I hated it!”

“What was so bad?”

“Grandma, I don’t know why people do it.”

“Well, sweetie, people like it.”

“Not me.”

“What happened?”

“He grabbed me. I knew I wasn’t going to like it. He smelled like school pizza.”

“Oh, my.”

“I hate school pizza. And I tasted it all day.”

“No mints?”

“No, but that wasn’t the worst—then he bit my ear!”

“Really.”

“Yes, and I hated it. Why did he bite me?”

“Honey, that’s part of kissing sometimes. It’s okay.”

“No, it isn’t. Grandma, that’s slimy.”

“So, that was it? A nip on the ear and pizza breath?”

“No, then he breathed on my neck.”

“Yeah—“

“Yeah, and he had hot breath and it was everywhere. He tried to lick me or something. He was so close; like he was in my space, you know?”

“Um, yeah, I know. Guys have to get in your space if they’re going to kiss you.”

“Not any more. That’s the last.”

“So, your first kiss wasn’t really nice, was it?”

“It was the worst thing that’s ever happened in my whole life.”

“At least it was only one kiss, huh?”

“No, when I like, tried to back up, he grabbed me with his arm and kissed me again. It was gross!”

“Bet you’re glad it’s over, huh?”

“Yeah, and if I ever have sex, there’s gonna be a no kissing rule.”

2 Comments
  1. March 6, 2013 10:26 am

    LOL. Is that why hookers don’t kiss?

  2. April 11, 2013 9:07 am

    Chrissy, love it! I’ve not read your work before. I feel like this story belongs in Reader’s Digest, or is it too racy for them? Where do you plan to submit?

Comments are closed.

