Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: Dependence Day

March 20, 2013

I just got done writing a short story about a guy who isn’t good at being dependent on people. He’s a self-made guy, a recovering bastard. His dependency made him crankier than he cared to be, and he restrained himself from lashing out at the people who were taking care of him.

I guess in some ways, I’m like that guy. Asking for help isn’t always the easiest thing for me to do, especially if I figured it’s something I should be able to do myself.

So today’s exercise is to imagine one of your characters in a position where they are completely dependent on someone else, and then see what happens. Is your character cranky because of the circumstance, of does he or she revel in the feeling of having someone else take care of things? Is your character fiercely independent, or are they addicted to being pampered? Do they feel indebted to their caretaker–and worry they can’t pay their debt–or are they grateful that someone is looking out for them?

Being a caregiver isn’t easy, but sometimes it’s no easier being the person to whom care is being provided.

Today’s exercise is to put one of your characters in the role of dependent. The dependence can be physical, but it doesn’t have to be. It can be any kind of dependence, as long as it’s complete. How do they react? How is their relationship with their caregiver, and to others around them? What does the situation do to them on the inside, and how do they deal with it on the outside?

Time limit: 30 minutes

2 Comments
  1. Peggy Lambert permalink
    March 21, 2013 8:11 pm

    Chris,
    I’m new to the blog and have questions. (1) If I want to contribute to the subject on Exercise Wednesday, must I do it the same day? I see the time limit is 30 minutes but I don’t really know what that means. (2) I also do not understand the plain text format. If I copy and paste from a Word document, is that sufficient? (3) Are Guest bloggers alowed on any subject at any time?

  2. Chris Hamilton permalink
    March 22, 2013 6:13 am

    You can comment on any post at any day. The time limit is a suggestion for the amount of time you should spend on the exercise. If you type in Word, you can try copy and pasting. I suspect it should work, but you might have to tweak some things. For information about guest blogging, see the guest blogging link at the top of the page.

Comments are closed.

