Skip to content

I’ve submitted my FWA Collection entry–it’s up to you to eliminate me

April 4, 2013

I’ve sent in my entry for the FWA Collection #5, It’s a Crime. It totally kicks butt. It may, in fact, be the single best 1200 word short story ever typed, shared with a writing partner, edited, edited some more, shared with a writing partner, edited some more, left to age, and then edited again. In short, it’s a highly literate and skillfully woven tail, sure to be the darling of the judges and our person of renown, Edna Buchanan.

In short, all y’all are competing for second place right now.

That is, unless you feel like coming up here to the summit of literal skills and talent and knocking me off…

Okay, seriously. In reality, I believe in my entry to the collection. I think it’s pretty good, but it’s entirely possible–even likely–that someone’s gonna enter something that runs laps around it.

And that’s the goal of the collection. We want to publish a bunch of short stories so incredibly good that people look at the cost of the book and say it’s a bargain at twice the cost. But that’s really up to you. This is really one of those instances where a rising tide lifts all boats. If the quality of work is so high that my entry doesn’t make it, I’ll be sad. But I’ll also be proud of you, my fellow writers, and of the Florida Writers Association for producing a high-quality collection this year.

If you’re interested in entering, there’s still time. Your entry needs to be no longer than 12oo words. For more information and all the other rules, check out the guidelines and optional editing service ($29).

Sixty stories will be selected, and Edna Buchanan will select her ten favorites. And if you’re one of the selected, you get to participate in a real, honest-to-goodness book signing if you attend this year’s conference.

The clock’s ticking, though. Your entry must be submitted by May 15.

Good luck. Hope you’re signing books in October. Hope you’re sitting next to me. I promise to bathe that day.

3 Comments
  1. April 4, 2013 8:34 am

    And maybe I’ll be there signing as well. One never knows how judge’s perceive our work.

  2. April 4, 2013 8:51 am

    It’s a crime not to enter…just saying

  3. April 4, 2013 11:41 am

    I’m in the race with you Chris and looking forward to crossing the finish line.

Comments are closed.

