Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: I know that I’m not all that you want

May 1, 2013

Once again, we go to a song lyric for the writing exercise. This time, it’s actually a lyric I didn’t hear correctly the first time. Once again, it’s from Fun.’s (no typo there, there’s a period in their name) song We Are Young. The lyric is actually, “I know that I’m not all that you’ve got.” But in the context of the song, what I thought I heard fits, too, and it’s heartbreaking.

Imagine being in a relationship with someone–a long-term, lasting relationship, and knowing that you’re not all that the want. Life only happens once and when you know that you’re a disappointment to your partner, parent, child–when a gap is left in their lives because you’re…well, you, there’s an emotional wallup there. Or not.

How would your character feel with that knowledge? Would he be devastated? Would she not care? Would she be correct in her assessment? Would the disappointment be realistic and appropriate?

This is heavy-duty lifelong disappointment we’re talking about. Not something minor, like when my wife is disappointed because I left the towel hanging over the shower-curtain rod. Or my disappointment that she likes burnt-tasting bitter coffee.

Time limit: 25 minutes.

One Comment
  1. May 2, 2013 1:37 pm

    Yow! I think this is rather too scary to contemplate. I’m not big enough to step up to the plate on this one. At least not today.

Comments are closed.

