Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: Breathtaking

July 3, 2013

A friend of mine posted this picture on Facebook recently. It’s breathtaking and amazing, and I’d give a decent amount of money to see what this guy is seeing. It’s exhilarating, isn’t it?

Well, not so much for me. Aside from a reasonable and appropriate phobia of snakes, God has instill in me a healthy dose of vertigo. If I were sitting there, I would almost certainly fall off. More to the point, I wouldn’t be sitting there. I might lay on my stomach and peer over the side, but there’s no way on earth I would do what this lunatic is doing.

What about your character? Would he or she ever sit there? If so why? How would they feel? Would it be the signature event of a vacation paid for by dedication and hard work? Or would it be the last step before sliding over the edge and ending unbearable pain? Would they feel accomplished for having made it there or would the feel small and insignificant at the overwhelming size and majesty of what’s around?

And what about what’s just outside the picture? Is there a significant other standing just outside the picture? A group of people? Or is the person in the picture solitary?

(If you’d like to substitute a similar, but appropriate situation, feel free!)

Time limit: 20 minutes

One Comment
  1. barbara fifield permalink
    July 3, 2013 8:50 am

    Chris, I get vertigo, too. But it is a gorgeous picture! Barbara Fifield

Comments are closed.

