Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: Susan is a pinhead

July 17, 2013

When I was a kid in Schenectady, someone painted the words Susan is a pinhead on the concrete wall near the Amtrak station. It was neatly written and seemed to stay there forever. (Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be a picture of the graffiti anywhere on the entire Internet. I know. I looked. There is, however, a picture of Susan Sarandon wearing a gravity-defying dress, in case you’re interested.)

Eventually, years later, someone painted over the graffiti. For a long time, no one knew who Susan was and why someone thought she was a pinhead. (The story eventually came out, but for the purposes of this exercise, please don’t Google it.)

Your job today is to figure out who Susan is and why someone would write graffiti on a wall next to the Amtrak station saying she’s a pinhead. If you like, include one or more of your characters in the story.

Time limit: 25 minutes

One Comment
  1. Carol Anderson permalink
    July 17, 2013 7:35 am

    Guilty. I looked it up. Flying to Albany area today to see grandkids so I gave myself permission to skip the writing prompt and peek. Instead I may have a cold pint. Bottoms up!

Comments are closed.

