Skip to content

Do the work

July 22, 2013

I had a hefty goal for myself this year–body as temple. That is, I wanted to treat my body like a temple, the way it says we should do in 1 Corinthians. If you believe in that stuff, God gave us our bodies as a gift–and a valuable one at that. I don’t want to turn this into a Bible lesson, but there’s the whole “fearfully and wonderfully made” verse.

I’ve done okay, but not great in that regard. I’ve done pretty well with exercise–leg injuries not withstanding. I’ve done less well spiritually and nutritionally. I know what I need to do to achieve that goal. It’s just a matter of doing the work.

Same with writing.

It’s a delicate balance to walk. If you get into self-abuse over not writing, you won’t write and you’ll make yourself feel like crap about it. But if you give yourself a free pass, you’ll never get there. You have to be firm, but reasonable with yourself.

But if you ultimately want to succeed, you have to do the work. You have to park your butt in front of a keyboard or a notebook and you have to make words, sentences, paragraphs, and scenes. If you don’t do that, you’ll never achieve your goal. It’s not complicated.

You have to drag your butt out of bed earlier than you want to and spend that beautiful Sunday afternoon doing something other than enjoying the lovely Florida sun.

You absolutely have to do the work.

It’s hard. When I’m running, I can’t wait to be done. It’s brutal and sometimes it hurts. In Florida in summer, it’s the opposite of fun. And it takes hours when I run long. When I finish I’m tired and sometimes dehydrated and often cranky. All for a few hours at Tough Mudder in November.

But I want Tough Mudder. I want the t-shirt and the headband.

That’s what drives me to do the work.

What drives you to do the work?

Comments are closed.

