Skip to content

The pause that refreshes

July 23, 2013

I didn’t work out today.

Aww, geez, another workout post. Excuse me while I get a donut.

I didn’t workout yesterday, either.

Two donuts then. And some coffee. You want some coffee? Please? Anything to stop you from–

I did a bunch of pushups yesterday, through the day. And I’ll do some today, too.

Never mind. I tried.

I will work out. In fact, tomorrow, I will get up and do a solid hour of stretching. It sounds boring, but it’s not.

Hey, Chris. This is a writing blog. And my coffee’s getting cold and my donuts are getting stale.

Donuts don’t get stale that fast. Besides, I’m making a point. Last week, I worked out like a maniac. Saturday, I did three workouts in a row. I guess I’m a little burnt out on the whole thing just now. So I’m taking a couple days off.

Good for you. I didn’t hear what you said because I was getting my donuts.

I said–never mine. Basically, we’re writers and we’re supposed to write, right?

Sure. Nice little word game you played there.

Thanks. Butt in chair–

You’ve said that lately, rather forcefully sometimes. You’ve written this blog every day since 1896 and it’s made you a better writer and blah, blah, blah.

You’re very angry, you know that? But sometimes, especially after you’ve gone through an intense round of writing, you can use a cool-down period. Rest is important in exercise, and I believe it’s important for mental activity, too.

Good. Donut run.

As I said, I’ll work out again because I have an overall goal and working out is part of a lifestyle I’ve had for a couple years now. It’s part of who I am. When I first started working out, I worried that if I didn’t work out for two days, it would be even easier for me to not work out on the third day, and so on and so on. Same with–

Same with writing. I get it. I can take a day or two off, as long as I acknowledge that I have to get back to work pretty soon.

And as long as you do it. I didn’t have the discipline to do it again before, but now I do. I know I’m not going over the non-exercise cliff. And when I’m ready again, I’ll exercise and be fresh and excited about it. And then I will look like–

Like Adonis–watch out ladies. I know. I’ve read this blog before.

Well, I was going to say I would look like Magnum, PI, but Adonis works.

Shut up and have a donut.

One Comment
  1. July 23, 2013 9:45 am

    Donut guy’s got my vote – especially as NOW you’re urging writers to place butt in chair – and two weeks ago – when I got a hernia lifting my desk-top to its higher location – I began your STAND UP regimen!
    I did that in the ’70s after seeing Winnie’s workout.
    Now I’M in my 70’s…and hauling my sagging butt to the sofa for a nap is the extent of MY daily workout.
    Pass the donuts!

    ps: Good piece BTW…

Comments are closed.

