Skip to content

I write because I want to be read

July 30, 2013

I ran across that quote at a website called Writer Unnboxed, while I was reading a post about social media. (The post is really good. You should read it.) As I read, the quote jumped out at me.

And, ironically enough, the tab next to the tab for the blog post was Facebook. I write a lot of Facebook. It’s the place I go when I really ought to be working on my revisions or work in progress and I’m not. And judging from my friends list, I’m not the only writer that’s true of. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not inundated by cute posts, adorable cat pictures, and non-literary content from the majority of the New York Times bestseller list, but my Facebook feed does contain a lot of content from a lot of writers. And they get to see my content, as well.

And that doesn’t include Twitter and the eight billion and twelve other social media tools out there.

Posts about writers forsaking their craft to serve the harsh mistress born of the Zuckerberg abound.

What the hell is it about Facebook, Twitter, and the like that draws writers like a porch light draws flies.

I think I know.

I write because I want to be read.

I’ve been working on variations of the same novel for more than two years now and I’m the only one who’s read the entire thing. I churn it out, revise it, let it breathe, beat it down, let it rise, then revise it again. (By this fall, I hope to stick it in the oven, so to speak.)

But that’s a long time with precious little feedback.

And I write because I want to be read.

And there it is, dangling in front of me like that third Freihofer’s Chocolate Chip cookie when my mom said I could only have two.

Facebook.

It takes very little effort to post on Facebook, and it’s a good place for a quick, biting sense of humor to flourish. So I scan, see something, post, and hang out a little to see if anyone caught my, umm, brilliance.

And that’s why I think writers are always saying they need to get off Facebook and get to work. If you’re looking to be read, there aren’t many more ways to obtain immediate gratification.

Now get to work!

2 Comments
  1. July 30, 2013 8:01 am

    Way too true!

  2. July 30, 2013 12:45 pm

    I agree. Don’t be shy. Put 500 words of your two-year old baby on Facebook for some of us to read!

Comments are closed.

