Skip to content

All good things…

August 26, 2013

A friend of mine, on Facebook, shared this picture.

I think I’ve shared this before, but when I considered my fellow writers who got contracts and agents and that coveted Royal Palm Literary Award, my black little heart would pout and my internal mouth would frown almost violently.

Except for one thing…those people who got those contracts and agents and the coveted Royal Palm Literary Award did two things. They worked their asses off and they didn’t give up.

There are eight million cliches in the naked city about inspiration and perspiration. But they’re cliches for a reason–they’re true! You might have more talent than Stephen King and JK Rowling put together, but until you plant your keister someplace and put fingers to keyboard for a long period of time, it doesn’t matter. Talent unhoned by repetition is like putting tree sap on your pancakes. All you get is a sticky mess that’s unsatisfying and doesn’t taste very good.

And they didn’t give up. I wrote a humorous (I hope) post a while back in which “Frank Barone” said he got so many rejection letters that he was identified as a contributor to global warming. He’s not the only one. The one’s who make it are the ones who have talent and keep working through the rejections. They’re the ones who don’t say “I’m almost 50 and I’ll never get this, especially when the people who are making it are so much younger.”

This is the part where it’s customary to discuss people who achieved success later in life, but I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’ll point out that, as the song says, today is where your book begins; the rest is still unwritten.

In fact, I would bet you a decent beer that if you got your favorite writer to be honest with you, they would tell you that there was a time when they were certain they were going to quit. And then when you ask them if it was worth it to go through that agony once they held that book in their hands, the answer would be something similar to…

Be one of those guys who gets the thing that causes someone else’s black little heart to frown violently. It’s not about the talent.

It’s about you.

One Comment
  1. August 26, 2013 8:04 am

    Reblogged this on The BiaLog.

Comments are closed.

