Skip to content

A personal note

October 28, 2013

This blog started as a tool to plug the 2009 Florida Writers Conference. The idea was that we could market the conference by creating a blog of general interest to writers. In that, I hope, we have succeeded. In the past four and a half years, we have published nearly 1800 posts from myself and at least a couple dozen guest bloggers. We’ve had nearly 120,000 hits since the few hundred that viewed the first month. More than 900 people receive the blog via email every day.

I know what you’re thinking. And you’re right. When people start saying something like this…all retrospectivey and stuff…it means they’re about to drop a big one.

Well, I suspect you’ll live through this big one. Come January 1, the blog is going to change direction. For one thing, I’ve found myself starting to repeat concepts and sometimes even posts. It isn’t intentional. When you write something almost every day for a while, you’ll eventually repeat yourself without realizing it. I’m running out of things to say–and to be honest, I have other things I want to talk about. Things that aren’t necessarily appropriate for this venue.

This is all good news, though. Jamie White, who has absolutely kicked virtual butt as the queen of social media for FWA is going to manage the blog going forward. This is a good thing, because as fantastic as my voice and perspective is, it’s just one voice. I know nothing about poetry or what it’s like to be published or how to make sure your middle grade story isn’t too basic or too advanced for your readers. I’ve never written a memoir or illustrated a children’s book. The majority of the non-fiction I’ve written is in email messages or software manuals. (Though some of those emails are the best creative fiction I’ve ever written.)

In short, one of the great things about the FWA is its diversity. We have an enormous number of very talented voices that can bring you way more insight, wisdom, and maybe even laughter than I can. It’s my hope–and I think Jamie’s, too, that this change will help bring those voices to this blog.

I’ll still be around, blogging here and there. In a new role, I hope to expand the opportunity and benefits available to FWA members. And considering I probably write around 125,000 words a year for this blog, I want to plow some of those words into what I hope will be salable work that adds to the cultural content and maybe even to my bank account.

Finally, the internet is a vast and infinite place. You can literally read almost anything on a daily basis. It’s gratifying to know that people have taken time out of their days to read what I’ve written. Thank you for inviting me in that way. It’s very meaningful to me.

And keep reading. And keep writing.

10 Comments
  1. Prolific Pete permalink
    October 28, 2013 7:03 am

    Best wishes in your endeavors, Chris.

  2. October 28, 2013 7:44 am

    MANY Thanks for all the blogs you have created. Good Luck with publishing and may you have MANY sales. Cheers!

  3. October 28, 2013 8:52 am

    I will miss your voice and ideas here, but look forward to reading your work elsewhere. Best of luck Chris!

  4. October 28, 2013 9:28 am

    So, do we wait for the next blog post to find out what’s next for this Florida Writers blog? 🙂

    Excellent blog, Chris. See you around!

  5. October 28, 2013 9:37 am

    Chris: Thanks for the bang-up blog job. Put those 125k words each year into a novel. You’ll earn far more. Don’t concern yourself about repeating like two-for-a-dollar hotdogs. TV sitcoms fail for that reason. Remember “Will & Grace” … “Everybody Loves Raymond”?

    So, Jamie White… You’re a virtual butt-kicking virtuoso? I humbly bow before the newly coronated queen.

  6. October 28, 2013 9:47 am

    Hmm … how does one “Like” the exit of one writer’s voice from a favorite place? I’ll do so by saying thanks for the words you’ve already shared, best wishes on the words you will sell(!), and welcome to the words of Jamie White.

  7. October 28, 2013 12:03 pm

    Glad I don’t have to say goodbye to you yet. You do an excellent job with this blog and I’m sure Jamie will too. Thank you for your dedication to doing this EVERY day for so long! You will be missed…but not yet. Thank goodness you’ve given us time to get used to the idea of change. I look forward to Jamie’s “new” style, and hope we’ll be reading you elsewhere Chris. Good luck!

  8. October 28, 2013 6:56 pm

    Wish you all the best and let us know where we can read you in the future.

  9. October 28, 2013 7:34 pm

    I wish you success and happiness on your new journey.

  10. November 1, 2013 3:18 am

    Chris, thanks so much for all you’ve contributed to your fellow writers. As for me personally, you are directly responsible for the existence of my blog. I was clueless about where to begin, but you made the directions so clear in your handouts, I was able to create my WordPress account while waiting for my plane to depart MCO after the 2009 conference. (Okay, I did have a four hour wait.) Best to you in converting your word production into the novel(s) in you. And congrats again on your inclusion in the FWA collection. Now that I’m back in Portugal, It’s a Crime is the first book on my “to read” list.

Comments are closed.

