Skip to content

Write something every day, even if it’s crap

November 7, 2013

As I write this, the past week has been a whirlwind. Last week was incredibly busy and I got home Sunday, caught up on sleep and went into an all-day work meeting, followed with a gathering after. Then I got home and crashed last night, only to wake up and get dressed to go in for another all-day meeting.

With luck, I’ll be home at a normal time tonight.

Meanwhile, having recently written posts exhorting everyone to place their keesters in a chair and write something, I’m faced with a choice: be a complete hypocrite or write something that’s less than stellar.

By virtue of the fact that you’re reading this post, I chose the latter.

This is hard. I don’t want to do it. I would rather play solitaire or check out the latest nonsense on Buzzfeed or Cracked. I’d rather catch a 15-minute nap before I brave the excitement that is construction on the Veteran’s Expressway.

But I’m a writer. I write.

We write. Even when we don’t want to.

Especially when we don’t want to.

Because my short story wasn’t quite good enough to garner the Royal Palm Literary Award this year. Because being in this year’s collection carries no value next year when a new set of stories is submitted and selected. Because I want to improve and because I’d like to be published at some point.

Because just the act of writing now, even if it’s not inspired content, improves my writing later.

Because that’s what we do. Write.

If you’re dragging today and you don’t feel like putting fingers to keyboard, I hear you. Do it anyway. You don’t have to do it for a long time and it doesn’t matter if the output isn’t up to your normal standards.

4 Comments
  1. Elizabeth Ressler permalink
    November 7, 2013 10:30 am

    I have been writing for the last three days–taking hand notes from a reseach reading. Not exactly original writing but necessary to flesh out who the real characters are in my story. As an artist, they all have their physical features but now need to get animated, which is where I have been stuck since 2009. Reading this blog each day as incentive provides writing habit to focus on my goal…since it really is taking a long, long, long time but continues to make me a happier person when I do it!

  2. November 7, 2013 5:38 pm

    One of my accountability pals gave is a ten minute challenge: to write at least ten minutes every day, even if its the last ten minutes before you turn in. I often find I can write 200 or 300 words in those minutes. Doesn’t sound like a lot, but when you do it every day, it adds up!

  3. November 8, 2013 7:30 am

    Writing every single day, no matter what else your life requires, can work magic. Yesterday, for example, putting words to processor turned my Thursday into a 26-hour day. The magic continues as I type into this 22-hour Friday. (Caution: Any post-bedtime output requires heavy editing before sharing!)

  4. November 8, 2013 7:14 pm

    I really appreciate this post. I am trying to complete my novel since 2009. I thought 30 chapters were good enough, only to find out I need at 50,000 or more. Everyday I say I will write today.

    But I get so busy I that before you know it. It’s late and time to turn for bed. So reading this post is encouraging and inspiring … I hope to get some writing done today, even if it is crap.

    Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.

