Skip to content

What are your goals for 2014?

November 10, 2013

The conference is over and now you’ve gotten a chance to breathe a little and move onto the next thing. But it’s November. This year is almost over and it’s time to start looking ahead to next year.

How did you do this year and what are your goals for next year?

My goals for 2013 were relatively simple:

  • Get published in the FWA collection. (Check)
  • Become an RPLA finalist. (Check)
  • Bring home an RPLA winner’s plaque. (Welllll, not so much.)

To adjust, I intend to work with my writing partner more and maybe pick a less populated RPLA category next year (I entered in unpublished short story).

How did you do? What did you accomplish, and where did you come up short? If you came up short, what’s your plan to do better next year?

And what do you want to do next year? This is as good a time as any to start thinking about that. After all, once you get to the second half of December, you’ll probably be busy thinking about other things. Now’s the perfect time to consider next year.

For what it’s worth, here are my goals:

  • Get published again in the FWA collection. It’s free. It’s 1200 words. (You should consider it, too.)
  • Become an RPLA finalist in the unpublished novelist category.
  • Bring home an RPLA plaque. You know, with my name on it. Stealing one would be gauche.
  • Present at two miniconferences–one of which will be literary, rather than technical.
  • Pitch at the 2014 Conference. Successfully.
  • Start a new novel.
  • Publish my short story that was a finalist in the RPLA.
  • Stare at the image at the top of this post without getting motion sickness.

I may also propose a presentation for the 2014 conference. That’s a moderately aggressive list, considering other FWA responsibilities, family, and–you know–the J-O-B.

How about you?

2 Comments
  1. Prolific Pete permalink
    November 10, 2013 9:26 am

    My goals are almost identical. Good luck to us both and everyone else!

  2. Elizabeth Ressler permalink
    November 10, 2013 2:56 pm

    #1-Practice editing. #2-Compose a 20-word book review on Amazon.com. for a FWA member. #3-Write for submission. #4-Learn the Art of Rejection. #5-Get publishing offer. #6-Get paid. #7-Buy a beer for Chris and celebrate. I’ll stop at 7, that being my lucky number, and contemplate the odds for completing these goals in the same way I do each time I purchase a lottery ticket. Can’t be a winner if you don’t buy the ticket; can’t give my Uncle any money if I don’t earn the cash; can’t achieve my goals if I don’t know what I want and write it down to remind me. Thanks, Chris

Comments are closed.

