Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: Oh, the words you’ll write

November 20, 2013

A co-worker and I were recently chatting via IM while a function of some software was demonstrated for us. The person doing the demonstration said, “You can do X, you can do Y, and can do Z. You can use it any way you want.”

I IMed the following:

I can use it stand up

I can use it sitting down

I can use it in a box

I can use it with a fox

Which brings us to today’s writing exercise.

It’s Wednesday today, the third day of the week.
You want to start writing, a prompt’s what you seek.
You need to get warmed to pump out the words.
Or you’ll eat cottage cheese with large no-fat curds.

Today will be clever. Today will be wise.
Today we’ll provide a unique exercise.

It’s something familiar.
It’s something benign.
It’s a thing you can do
Without fuss or design.

Before you run off
and place your neck in a noose
today’s scene you’ll write
like you’re Dr. Seuss.

Time limit: 10 minutes

2 Comments
  1. November 21, 2013 7:42 am

    I thought in the moment I first read this post,
    It looked like big fun—it might be the most.
    But when I sat down in my chair to begin it
    I found myself cramped by the unfair time limit.

    It takes more than minutes to type out a plot.
    (If your genre is mystery, first decide who gets shot.)
    For writers of fiction in any niche market
    You’ve got to appeal to the audience you target.

    So write away
    Rhyme away
    Type away now.

    I’m certain you’ll write past any brain jam.
    Of that I am sure—of that yes I am.

  2. Chris Hamilton permalink
    November 22, 2013 6:03 am

    I wanted to say
    I’m glad to report
    That the ten minute limit
    Is just there for sport

    You can write for ten minutes
    Or just for a day
    And then when you’re done
    You can put it away

    You can write in a box
    You can write with cow
    You can write later
    Or do it right now

    You can write while you clean
    Or write while you twerk
    But I’ll stop writing right now
    Cause I must go to work.

Comments are closed.

