Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: Holy crap! I’m old!

December 18, 2013

Whooooooooooooooooa, Nelly, you’re old!

I very distinctly remember when it happened. I was watching a Gatorade commercial a few years back and the commercial featured footage of the old Kansas City Chiefs of what was then the American Football League. Keith Jackson, the former voice of college football, narrated the ad. (Unfortunately, I can’t find it online.)

The AFL was a little before my time, but I was a Jets fan and always liked football games where the ball’s in the air (the AFL style), and I dug the AFL uniforms. So I enjoyed the commercial. It was like it was made for me.

In fact, it was made for me. The teenagers of the day (maybe ten years ago), didn’t know about the AFL. To them, The Merger isn’t a part of football history and doesn’t need to be capitalized. (After years of war, the AFL and NFL merged in 1966. Without the merger, there would be no Super Bowl.)

In fact, the commercial was aimed at people like me. People who knew about things like the merger and Hank Stram telling his team to matriculate the ball down the field.

It wasn’t aimed at young people. That means it was aimed at old people. And that’s the very instant I realized I wasn’t young any more.

Today’s writing exercise is to write when a character realizes he or she isn’t young any more (or something else with similar emotional heft). What’s going on at the time? And what’s the context for that realization? And what comes after?

Time limit: 25 minutes

One Comment
  1. December 19, 2013 11:14 am

    Mine was when I went to a rock concert thinking I’d be the oldest one there because young people liked rock. Turned out, all the people that liked rock were old people, and I was one of them!

Comments are closed.

