Skip to content

Sometimes it’s a hard decision to make

December 20, 2013

As I write this, the past month has been a whirlwind. I had a business trip that allowed almost no time for writing and left me very tired. Then I had a set of all-day meetings with meetings after the meetings because we were meeting all day and couldn’t meet while we were meeting. (If that sentence makes no sense to you, consider yourself blessed. If you get it, I feel your pain.)

Then, with two days of meetings left, I got sick. Then I was sick into the next week. Then I was making up for what I missed while I was sick. Then it was Thanksgiving and I actually got some writing done. Then the break was over and work started again.

Work is kind of special right now. I’m on a high visibility project that can leave me drained at the end of the day. And the days are typically pretty long.

When I get done for the day, I could sit down and write about angst and conflict. Or I could fire up Netflix and watch a sitcom that makes me laugh every now and again and requires no thought or perseverance to experience. Lately, the sitcom experience has been winning.

I know I should be writing. I sit there and watch Marshmallow and Lilypad (characters in the sitcom) be the most annoying couple in the entire world and know I would be adding more to the world and to my future viability as a writer by sitting my butt behind a computer for a few more hours and cranking something out. And yet Marshall and Lily (their real pretend names) have been winning lately.

Look at this, Lily. This guy says we’re the most annoying couple in the world.

I’m not too worried about it for now. Life is full of ebs and flows and sometimes you need a little downtime. But sometime very soon–probably between the time I wrote this post and when it runs–I’ll need to ask what’s important to me. And act accordingly.

Comments are closed.

