Skip to content

Getting back to writing after a lay off

December 29, 2013

I hate it when I stop working out for a while. It’s too hard–

Sigh. Another–one last working out as a metaphor for writing post. I knew it. I knew it I knew it I knew it.

Very nice. Anyway, sometimes if I hurt myself for an extended period of time or just aren’t feeling motivated, I can go weeks without working out. And those first several workouts back are sheer hell. I mean, the things I did with relative ease before are now terribly difficult to do. And though I’m typically tired at the end of a workout, I’m exhausted for the rest of the day sometimes when I first come back. And the nausea–

Okay, enough. Why don’t you just say what you were going to say without the metaphor, without the quote from Tony Horton, and for heaven’s sake, without the references to nausea.

Uhhh, sure. Okay. I haven’t written a lot lately. There’s been too much going on and even when I’ve had time, I’ve been kind of tired. When I can just tap an iPad one or two times and allow myself to be entertained by five talented actors who spend more time in a bar than anyone since George Wendt (Norm!), why not?

So now, I’m starting to write again and it’s like going back to working out. The things that used to happen naturally and even easily aren’t happening that way any more. I have to work myself back to that. And I wish I hadn’t stopped, like when I stop working out for a while. And, to be honest, sometimes I read what I’m writing right now and throw up a little bit in my mouth.

Again with the nausea–

Hey, you’d throw up, too, if you read it. Just be happy I’m publishing this instead of that.

The point is, sometimes you’re gonna wind up taking breaks. Whether you should or shouldn’t is another issue, but you will. And it’s reasonable to expect it to be hard when you start again. So just work through it. And be prepared for–

For nausea. We get it.

I was going to stay a little struggle, but since you mention it…

One Comment
  1. nrcornell@cox.net permalink
    December 30, 2013 9:11 am

    Just work through it. Ugh. OK I know the truth when I hear it however unpleasant it may be…

Comments are closed.

