Skip to content

Start work now for RPLA!!!! Get to work!

January 12, 2014

The Royal Palm Literary Awards (RPLA) competition opens in a few weeks. So it’s time to take it easy, watch some TV, right?

If you want to be successful for the RPLA or the FWA Collection, now is the time to do the work.

Last year, I was honored to be included in the FWA Collection for the first time and was an RPLA finalist. And the work for both of those pieces started a long time before that. And I’ve already started my piece of this year’s collection. (It’s going to be awesome!)

The pieces for the collection aren’t long–12oo words. I wrote the first draft before Thanksgiving and I’ve gone over it a few times–giving it time to breathe in between, of course. And I’m probably two edits away from getting it where I want it to be. And that’s just 1200 words.

So we’re going to cut this blog post shorter than normal, because instead of reading this, you should be writing.

Comments are closed.

