Skip to content

Welcome to 2014…

January 13, 2014

Hello! As Chris Hamilton has mentioned, I am taking over running the FWA blog and I am so excited to meet everyone and share the great posts that will be coming from the different people who have committed to write for the blog this year. I’m new to the FWA, but it’s already been an amazing experience and I can’t wait to see what the coming year will bring.

There’s always a great energy around the beginning of a new year. It’s an blank page just waiting to be written on. While there is hope surrounding the beginning of a new year, there is also a bit of uncertainty and trepidation as well. Sometimes it can hinder your creative juices and make you hesitate to act.

Don’t let it.

Approach the months to come with the mindset that this is your year. It’s a year filled with creativity and words. If you’ve been pulled away from the muse as I have in the past couple of months, make it a priority to get back in touch. Reflect on what you have accomplished and what you hope to accomplish, then make it happen. If you need some encouragement or inspiration, you are sure to find it in the guests who will be sharing their tips. You can also find plenty of prompts and such on the FWA Facebook page. There is also a Facebook group where I encourage you to post your writing challenges, questions, and tips.

Here’s to our year.

Jamie

PS: I found this video of writing tips that I thought were interesting and I wanted to share. I hope they help.

14 Comments
  1. January 13, 2014 7:07 am

    Jamie, welcome, and thanks for stepping into the blog’s leadership!

    (I’d say more, but you’ve motivated me to go “un-blank-ify” another page … or two.)

    • January 13, 2014 9:21 am

      You’re welcome! And thanks for the kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚

      (WHOO-HOO…. glad that inspired you.)

  2. January 13, 2014 9:21 am

    Jamie, I think your video with discussions about what background music to use as you write is cool. Barbara Fifield, FWA member and novelist and poetess

    • January 13, 2014 4:43 pm

      Thanks! Music is huge for me when writing, so it was nice to see someone else with that process. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. January 13, 2014 9:40 am

    Good luck with the blog. And thanks for the info/links. I’ve been and on/off FWA member for half-a-dozen years and did NOT know about the Facebook OR the Group until now. Duh!

    • January 13, 2014 4:43 pm

      Thank you so much! Hope you enjoy the page and group. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. January 13, 2014 11:14 am

    Welcome to the blog and I look forward to seeing where you take it.

  5. Becky permalink
    January 13, 2014 12:58 pm

    Welcome to the blog and FWA. Looking forward to 2014.

  6. January 13, 2014 2:49 pm

    Jamie,
    Welcome, loved the video and words of encouragement. I started writing in retirement. Today, I’m struggling creatively but not giving up

    • January 13, 2014 4:41 pm

      Glad to hear you enjoyed the video. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on pushing through! Hope your day is shaping up to be a productive one.

Comments are closed.

