Skip to content

Special Edition: Building A Better Conference Proposal

January 28, 2014

For my first re-blog here, I wanted to share a post written by the awesome Jennie Jarvis where she discusses writing a conference proposal. Even if you aren’t planning to do a conference workshop at this point, it’s always a good idea to think ahead and these tips could be helpful if you plan to try and speak at libraries or school as well.

Five Writers

By Jennie Jarvis

This year marks my first year as the Faculty Chairperson for the Florida Writer’s Association Annual Conference. This means I get the honor and responsibility of selecting the formal programming and faculty for FWA’s largest event of the year. In 2014, the conference will take place Thursday October 23rd – Sunday, October 26th  in Lake Mary, Florida, and I highly recommend everyone who reads this blog should at least consider attending. And because I’m in charge of the programming, you KNOW it will be good (humble wink).

Our deadline for workshop proposals was January 15th, and this means I’m still sorting through them to find the best possible faculty. Writers, agents, editors and publicists from all over the country submitted their ideas on what workshops they could teach at this year’s conference. Since it’s my first year, I want to impress the pants…

View original post 1,468 more words

Comments are closed.

