Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: What if it sucks?

February 19, 2014

I can still remember the first time I printed out my work for a critique group. I felt confident and excited. I knew it was good. Damn good. Legendary. Awesome.

rightnowsomeoneiswalkingontoanudebeachforthefirsttimeUntil I got to Barnes and Noble. Where the critique group was. I’d been going a few times already and knew I could critique the hell out of a sample.

But my writing was different. In a phrase:

What? If? It? Sucks?!?!?

Today’s assignment is to write what it feels like for that first critique group. (Or the first similar experience in a similar situation–maybe the first time they talk in front of a group or that time you asked someone if they wanted to spend the rest of their life with you.)

And, once again, it’s time to write your FWA collections entry, and this could very well qualify as first steps.

Time limit: 30 minutes

 

Comments are closed.

