Skip to content

5 Ways to Regain Your Writing Mojo After Vacation

June 13, 2014

Good morning and happy Friday the 13th! I know that I am once again posting a bit early today, but I found this and wanted to share it with you all. FWA is gearing up for a the remaining mini-conferences this year while also preparing for the annual conference later this year, which means some of you out there will be doing a little traveling soon. It’s also summer, so there’s a good chance that you’ll be heading somewhere. If that’s the case, this blog post might just be of help.

When I went to the conference last year, it was one of the few times I have traveled and certainly one of the longer trips I have taken. After participating in all the awesome events and volunteering at some interesting workshops, I admit to having lost my writing mojo for a while. It happens. You have a lot of fun, connect with so many people, and learn lots of information so there is bound to be a little overload which can leave you feeling drained.

That’s why I thought this would be helpful. The tips are great ways to get yourself out of “vacation mode” and back into the groove at home. I particularly like #1 and #5, partly because they were so relevant to me and my experience. I think I tried to push myself a bit too much at first and just ended up making the situation even worse. I also was able to help with a great workshop that dealt with dreams which led to an idea. You never know where those will come from! I also recommend the post she linked to about getting that writing time in while on vacation.

Did you find any of these tips helpful? Do you have any of your own methods for getting back the writing mojo? I’d love to hear about them, and I’m sure others would to.

Until next time!

Jamie

Random Inspirations

I’ve just returned from an amazing summer break in London and Lebanon, where I discovered new places, foods, and cultures. To make matters even better, the entire trip culminated with the beautiful wedding of two close friends–simply awesome!

Before I left on the trip, I scheduled this blog post with tips on how to keep writing during vacation, and I’m pleased to say that I implemented each and every one of  them! However, I concentrated on blogging and working on a new Business, Publishing, and Life episode. I put my latest book of the Amish in College series, Amish Baker: Mercy’s Book, on hold to focus on enjoying the vacay and keeping up my online presence.

I figured I could move this project to the back burner since I’d had a ton of momentum before I’d left on vacation, I had a clear vision of the plot line, and…

View original post 656 more words

Comments are closed.

