Skip to content

Exercise Wednesday: A fond memory of something stupid

June 25, 2014

Do you remember the old CBS Special Presentation sounder? I don’t know why, but for some reason, it just popped into my head as I wrote this prompt.

For whatever reason, that sounder brings with it warm feelings. I don’t know why. It’s not like I remember it as being a precursor to some kind of special series I used to watch. Maybe it was because they always played it before Charlie Brown came on. But I always feel a tiny bit special when I hear that.

Today’s prompt is for your character to feel sweet nostalgia over something stupid. Maybe it’s the CBS prompt or a bottle of Nehi or the aroma of fried dough like that served at the fair that summer he hung out with that girl whose name he should remember but escapes him.

Maybe it’s the smell of wet wool, like the way her mittens smelled when they were drying next to the radiator, cozy and drinking chocolate milk while it snowed outside.

Whatever it is, it should trigger an emotion and a set of feelings–fondness for times and people who aren’t there any more, wistfulness over what could have been or wasn’t, even anger over missed opportunity.

Time limit: 25 minutes

Comments are closed.

