Skip to content

What’s right for you?

August 9, 2014

Good morning, everyone! I am so sorry my post didn’t go out yesterday. It’s been one of those crazy weeks, and I didnst didn’’t even realize until late in the day that this hadn’t been set up. That’s a topic for another post, though– Monday, to be exact.

For now, I wanted to talk about something that I’ve seen a lot of in the online world and felt the need to discuss: Crowd funding. More specifically, the thoughts and attitudes surrounding crowd funding. I’ve seen a lot posts from people who still seem to have an issue with people not going the traditional route of submitting to a publisher and waiting until one has accepted you for your work to see the light of day, as well as a general stigma on crowd funding campaigns.

Whether one personally likes it or not, self-publishing and crowd funding is here to stay and I, for one, am thrilled. I have read so many self-published books that I have loved. Without self-publishing, I really doubt I would’ve had the pleasure of reading those titles and connecting with the writers.notebook

With the stigma attached, why do some people choose to go the self-pub route instead of waiting to be legitimized by a publisher’s acceptance letter? It’s simple: freedom. You can put your story out there as you want, when you want. You can have complete and total control over every aspect and get your fans intimately involved through crowd funding campaigns.

 As long as an author (or anyone else who starts a campaign) is being upfront about their intentions, why shouldn’t people who believe in the project have the opportunity to contribute toward seeing it come to life? What it all comes down to is, everyone has their own path and what works for me (being with a publisher while occasionally putting out something on my own) might not work for someone else.

We all need to take a long, hard look at our plans and make the decision that is right for us. Let’s put ourselves in the other person’s shoes for a minute before we call them into question. Whatever path may be right for you, stick with it. Be true to yourself. I’ll be cheering you on.

8 Comments
  1. August 10, 2014 12:31 pm

    I’m really struggling with which route to take for my finished novel. I’d really like print copies of my book as well as for e-readers. I’m not sure I could afford print copies. That’s the biggest reason I’m considering submitting to publishers. Other than that, all the reasons you gave are why I’d prefer to self-publish. I’ll make my final decision after the conference in October. Keep up the good work.

  2. August 10, 2014 12:48 pm

    Thanks! As far as affordable self-pub print, I recommend CreateSpace. I did a print of my “The Life and Times of No One in Particular” through the site and the only thing I had to pay was to get one proof copy. Even that isn’t mandatory, as you can do a proof on the computer as well. The only cost would be if you chose to purchase any to have on hand and they give it to you at a discount.

  3. August 11, 2014 9:49 am

    Nice article Jamieb. I think you hit the nail on the head about self-published indie novels. Even before deciding to go the self-publishing route, I had read so many wonderful self-published books by very talented authors, that I feel privileged to join them. I have nothing against publishing the traditional route, but I like the control, freedom and responsiblity that comes with self-publishing. Of course, it’s not for everyone, but it’s here to stay whether we like it or not.

    • August 11, 2014 10:39 am

      Thanks, John. I agree; it’s a privilege to be part of an overall wonderful community of small press and self-pub authors.

  4. August 11, 2014 1:31 pm

    Reblogged this on The BiaLog and commented:
    I couldn’t agree more. It’s all about what works best for you and your plans.

  5. August 11, 2014 1:33 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I keep telling people it’s about what works best for them and their plans. I’ve run into so much pretentiousness, whether done purposely or not, and it becomes irritating. I’m proud to be a self-published author and if others choose to look down on that, it’s their loss.

Comments are closed.

