Skip to content

Wearing many hats

August 15, 2014

Hello, again. ūüôā I promised you all a post before, but another more timely one came in I wanted to get out. That all said, you may have noticed that these Friday posts I do usually come out a bit later in the day than other posts. Basically? It comes down to one thing: A desperate need of organization and feeling a bit overwhelmed at times.

I’m sure you know what I am talking about. As authors, we usually wear a ton of other hats. We’re also editors. Marketers. Some of us are designers as well. Add in jobs (Stephen King pointed out in On Writing only 5% of authors make enough to live solely on their books alone), and it gets even crazier.

That’s where the need to organize and get on a schedule is so critical. Here are some things I am planning to implement and some resources to help.

  • Make a list. While I fell out of the habit for a little while, I love to-do lists. They bring some structure to my day and it feels great to see things getting checked off.¬†¬†Put the highest priority stuff at the top and work your way down.
  • Be Realistic. This is related to lists, and a trap I’ve fallen into a few times. I’d start jotting down a ton of things that I needed to get done and only get half of the list completed. I was trying to jam too much in one day, which left me feeling disappointed and even more overwhelmed.
  • Reserve certain days for certain tasks.¬†You might decide that the weekend is a great time to get all your blog posts you plan to post¬†for the week done, so you can just set them up as you need to. Maybe you reserve Monday for coming up with social media posts or other marketing tasks. You might decide certain days are for writing or editing only. Play around with it a bit and see if the days work for you, then adjust as needed.
  • Schedule time for you.¬†With all the stuff we have to do, sometimes we forget to take time out to relax and that is so critical. It keeps you from getting burned out. It also helps stress levels to do something fun for yourself, whatever is it. Whether it’s a long bath, a favorite book/movie, a walk around the neighborhood, meditation, or lunch with a friend, these things take you away from the computer screen for a little while and can leave you feeling refreshed and inspired.

Here are a few resources that can help out.

  • I¬†know I’ve¬†mentioned this before, but hootsuite¬†is amazing. It allows you to manage multiple accounts in one place at one time. You can either do posts live or schedule them ahead of time. I like to do a little of both. Either way, as long as you’re scheduling some ahead of time, you’ll have a stockpile of posts so you don’t need to worry about social media much, if at all, those days. Buffer¬†and Meet Edgar¬†are also great sites to do this with.
  • Coffivity¬†is a site that gives you the coffee house atmosphere without having to leave the house. Some studies have indicated the noise can actually help boost creativity and productivity.
  • Mashable¬†has a great list of sites that block your access to social media so you’re not tempted. I have a computer that isn’t hooked up to the internet at all, so when I really need the extra help to focus, I use that.
  • Write or Die¬†puts the pressure on for those who might work better that way.

As a little bonus, here is a video of writing tips I found. Maybe something in it will help you…

So there you have it! Some tips and resources to boost your productivity and get you on schedule. Do you use any of these sites, or do you have similar ones you go to? If so, share! See you next time!

Jamie

2 Comments
  1. August 16, 2014 5:44 pm

    On Monday morning, I write a list down for each day of the week so that I can spread things out and leave a little time for myself each day. It includes visiting other blogs. It’s a great way to network and get people interested in my own blog. On Friday night or Saturday morning, I make a list for the weekend. This is the second time I’ve read a blog referring to hootsuite in a couple of days, and hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks for the tips.

  2. August 16, 2014 8:17 pm

    You’re welcome. ūüôā I totally agree on the commenting on blogs (as long as you’re on topic). I’m looking at you, work-at-home spammers and other such posters. Let me know how hootsuite works out for you if you decide to try it.

Comments are closed.

