Skip to content

Better Late than Never

August 29, 2014

What an apt title for this post considering today’s post is a bit late. I was just reading through my WordPress feed and this one really touched my heart, so I wanted to share it with you all.

This post is exactly what I am dealing with right now. I have been so focused on whatever gigs are coming my way, I have forgotten to write what I want to write. Just because. For that reason (except for one release that MUST be done tonight), I have been purposefully avoiding any work for the past day or two so I can get back in touch with my muse so to speak.

Yesterday, I spent a lot of time browsing writing prompts on Pintrest and looking up myths/legends to write about. I have to say, it was an a fun experience and I am right now about to start writing up a couple of other blog posts.

I can’t wait. 🙂 I am fired up and looking forward to seeing what comes out. That said… when was the last time you wrote something? Not because someone paid you to do it or anything. Just because a topic inspired you and you felt like it? If you haven’t done that in a while, I challenge you to take a day and just have some fun. Write a diary entry, a poem, a blog post. Whatever moves you. And do it for the joy of it.

Until next time!

The Christ-Directed Life

It’s amazing how often we procrastinate on the things that impassion us. 

I write professionally as a social media manager and copywriter for my day job, but I also dabble in freelance journalism. However, writing for the sake of writing rarely crosses my mind anymore. Money motivates our choices more than we realize, a lesson I learn more or less every day. Not to say that I’m not grateful for what I do; three years of post-grad jobs not related to my field have made me incredibly grateful for the opportunities presented to me. However, I know that blogging, journaling online, whichever nomenclature that we assign it, provides a chance to, as Hemingway said, “sit at a typewriter (computer in this day and age), open up a vein and bleed.” 

A willingness to “bleed” or explore our minds and hearts is difficult. In our hyper-information age, we know that once…

View original post 316 more words

Comments are closed.

