Skip to content

Am I a Writer?

September 5, 2014

Hello, again! I hope you’ve all been having a great week and have been getting some writing in! I have the next part of my series of posts on ways to save in the publishing/promoting process coming, but I wanted to share this with you in the meantime.
I love the message of this post. It reminds me of what Whoopie Goldberg said to one of the students in Sister Act: If you wake up every day thinking about singing, you are a singer.

Too often, we come across the idea that unless you are published by a big house and making lots of money off of your book, you’re not a “real” writer/author. I couldn’t disagree more. As long as the ideas are getting written down and you’re putting some time into your writing, you are a real writer. Hang in there and enjoy the process! Let it be about the love of it, not about the result.

R Scott Boyer

Upon having an idea for a book or short story, one of the first questions many people ask themselves is: am I really a writer? They may have a plot, or perhaps a character begging to be brought to life, but they also often have a day job, a wife/husband, kids, mortgage, and in some cases, all of the above. The focus and commitment required to actually complete a novel can be overwhelming, prompting many people to ask themselves if they truly have what it takes.

'I figured if you liked the first paragraph I'd go ahead and finish the book.'Years ago when I was taking writing classes at UCLA Extension, I met many people pondering this question. In fact, every class was full of them. As I explored the depth of this topic on their behalf as well as my own, it occurred to me that most of us fell into one of two categories: (1) those that wrote whenever they had time…

View original post 445 more words

2 Comments
  1. September 5, 2014 5:42 pm

    Paraphrasing René Descartes: “I write, therefore I am.”
    (Cute cartoon!)

Comments are closed.

