Skip to content

Ebook or Paperback?

October 13, 2014

By CP Bialois

CP Author PhotoGood morning everyone! I thought I’d start this week off with a fun discussion topic: Which do you like better? E-books or paperbacks?

To be honest, I love them both. The kindle (or Nook or whatever device you prefer) allows us to carry around hundreds of books in our pockets. The convenience they offer is second to none as you can read a PDF from your computer on your device as well. What’s not to love about that?

The one bad thing is when you purchase an e-book, you are really only buying the right to “borrow” the book. This became obvious after a recent article cycled around the internet about Amazon preventing a person from accessing the library she paid for. Even this, depending on your point of view, isn’t necessarily a bad thing as some sites like Smashwords lets you download the books as a PDF, which can be saved on your computer indefinitely. It’s all about our preference.

Speaking of preference, while I love my kindle and e-books, I will always love the physical books. Nothing compares to holding a book in your hand. The feel of the cover and pages, the sound of you turning them, and even the smell is so awesome. That’s right folks, I’m a book sniffer. Now don’t worry, I don’t do that to library books or books I don’t buy. If I do buy them, I will sniff to my heart’s content. The only thing close to the smell of a new book is fresh-cut grass, at least in my opinion.

Of course, the downside is having enough space to put the books. Anytime we go into the library or thrift store, I go right to the books being sold. Nearly every time I turn to my wife with an armload of books and a goofy, crap-eating smile on my face. Her response? “We don’t have room.”

Now, I know she’s right, but I refuse to give up my books without a fight, or some pouting if needed. Needless to say, I lose just about every time. What can I say? I’m a book junkie. Lol

What’s your preference? Do you like one over the other or any format in general?

4 Comments
  1. October 14, 2014 11:26 am

    Heh. We wives usually win. ;-). I can’t say I disagree with anything you’ve said here. So, I just wanted to thank you for being the only guest host (aside from Mary Ann) who actually interacts in comments with the commenters. I think that’s important.

    • October 14, 2014 11:45 am

      Thank you, that means a lot. I’m a huge fan of interacting as much as possible. It just feels right to me. Yeah, I’m trying to figure out a way to get her to say yes more. I’m too stuborn to give up so I look at it as a work in progress. 😀

  2. October 14, 2014 2:40 pm

    Book junkies unite! My house looks like an old bookstore. Books piled and stacked everywhere. I like being surrounded by them. Having said that, I like my e-reader too, but I’ll confess the only reason I bought one originally was because my first publishing contract was with an e-publisher and well, you know, I had to get on board then. lol

    • October 14, 2014 10:19 pm

      Oh yeah, isn’t it great? There’s something so awesome about looking around and seeing row after row of books. One of my goals is to have one of those personal libraries you see in the movies with a step ladder that slides along the wall. 🙂

      I admit, it took me a while to warm up to getting a kindle, but in the end my wife allowed me to to save her sanity and save space in the house. All I have to do is figure out a way to read the 1000 or so books I have on there now. I have a serious 1-click problem and I don’t think that’s what she intended. lol

Comments are closed.

