Skip to content

Developing Ideas

November 10, 2014

NOTE: I first posted this entry on my personal author blog back in January of this year. I decided I wanted to share it here in case anyone might find it helpful. Please feel free to comment with any tips you might have for conquering the blank page…

So, I was looking at some blogging prompts when this topic was mentioned. I thought it might be fun to do a post on this, so here are some ways I develop ideas. If you have any of your own, please feel free to share. I’d love to hear about them.

  • Listening to music. This really helps to get in the right mindset to write, but it also inspires ideas from time to time.
  • Meditation. Sometimes, just quieting the mind can be a huge help.
  • Writing prompts. I can’t recommend these enough and they are a huge source of inspiration. A simple google serach can put hundreds of prompts in your hands.
  • Taking a walk. Walks are kind of a meditation for me as well. There are so many times where something was going on that really upset me and going out for a walk was a great way to burn it all off, but it also allows you time alone to work over existing ideas and see how you can add in those twists and turns.
Plus, you never know what you might see while you're out and about. :)

Plus, you never know what you might see while you’re out and about. 🙂

  • Talk it out. Going over a vague thought with CP has done wonders for generating ideas. Sometimes a fellow writer or a good friend can help you get past a block.
  • RPGs. My time in a Buffy the Vampire Slayer role play game actually led to my first book, The Life and Times of No One in Particular. Writing some fan fiction or acting out an impromptu story in real time is one of the best writing exercises there is. By playing in a world that already exists, you get a launch pad to creating original stories in that world that can evolve into creating your own unique universe.
Comments are closed.

