Skip to content

Writing with Distractions

November 17, 2014

By CP Bialois

Sootie and EdHello and good morning everyone!

One of the most common battles people have is accomplishing a task surrounded by distractions. While it’s a shared problem, it’s different for writers or artists in general. We range in our ability to deal with what the world throws at us as some have no problem writing when surrounded by bustling noise. I, for one, need quiet or something to block out the noise, hence the wonderful creation of headphones and music.

No one ever claimed writers are normal (Though I contest we are the new normal), but we like to feel comfortable and secure just like anyone else. For many of us, home is our chosen retreat. We have everything we need at hand for a productive day, so what could possibly go wrong?

The answer with vary depending who you talk to, but at some point children or pets dominate the conversation. I tormented the crap out of my mom growing up and rarely gave her a moment’s peace, so she did what so many other parents do: Wished for me to have children as bad or worse than me. I showed her. We don’t have kids, but we do have pets…

Cleo and Notebooks

Two cats and a dog are our children. They are the sweetest, most loving creatures I’ve ever met. They are also the most needy, whiny, and pains in the backside that have ever lived when I try to write. My wife has taken to calling them fur babies and us as pet servants. I choose to refer to us as condemned and our pets as fur brats, demons, and psychopaths. The last two are descriptions that they do their best to live up to when I have a computer or notebook open.

Our solutions to counter this was having them get down, go somewhere like the library, or eventually yell at them when they pushed for the hundredth time. The only problem with those attempts came when we returned home or they continued to pest just because they wanted to. I know I was a rotten kid (One of my nicknames 🙂 ), but come on!

032612181847

Anyway, the best way I’ve found is to outlast them. It helps that I’m extremely stubborn and if I can make it through the first hour, then I’m gold as they give up and do what they normally do like eat and/or sleep. All I have to worry about then is the wife, but that’s where headphones come in to play. (I’m so going to get into trouble for saying that).

What are your tricks to being productive? Do you like to work anywhere special, bribe your distractions, or outlast them?

5 Comments
  1. November 18, 2014 10:01 am

    Whose got control of your household there, CP. 😉 My dog is so quiet, sometimes I forget he is even in the house with me. Unless of course, the mailman or UPS man come by. Then it sounds like we have a major intruder alert siren going off. He becomes a maniac. I have found my pets (this dog and my beloved heart dog passed on), a comfort to have nearby as I write. What happens to me is that I get easily distracted with things to do, like household chores or errands. They weigh on my mind and I think, “if I can just get those done first, I can get to writing with a clear head.” Yeah, right. 🙂

    • November 18, 2014 12:27 pm

      I know, right? I’m good at “forgetting” the chores until my wife puts her foot down, but I can admit the brats run the house. They’re always nice and well-behaved until I pick up a notebook or laptop. They are so lucky they’re cute, but what can you do? It’s a curse and they know it. lol 🙂

  2. November 18, 2014 10:14 am

    Hahahaha: “pet servants”

    • November 18, 2014 12:29 pm

      Oh yeah, I love that term. I’m too stubborn to give in, though. Denial is so much easier to work with so I’m sticking with condemned. 🙂

    • November 18, 2014 12:36 pm

      LOL! Yeah, it’s a very apt term to describe us. They have us trained well.

Comments are closed.

