Skip to content

If you don’t know how to write, start writing

November 28, 2014

Good afternoon everyone! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and are slowly pulling yourselves out of the food coma that I’m sure many of us are in. đŸ™‚

Today, I saw this post and thought it was such a beautiful message that I wanted to share it with you all. I recently experienced the uncomfortable and made some changes myself that I believe really helped my writing this year.

What did I do? I decided to leave my pantser comfort zone and outline a project for this year’s NaNoWriMo. The change was unreal. Instead of struggling for the first week to get a single word out, I was writing from Day 1. With the exception of two days, I wrote every day of the month and won the challenge on the 25th of this month, rather than cranking out a crazy amount of words on the last day.

Getting out of my comfort zone and forcing myself to write each day after I had fallen out of the habit was a great challenge for me and it made, as the writer of the original blog said, “the uncomfortable comfortable.” I am now getting ready to apply some of this to pending projects and plotting out next year.

What have you done that was uncomfortable? What effect did it have on you? I’d love to hear about it! Until next time…

Comments are closed.

