Skip to content

Welcome to 2015!

January 2, 2015

notebookFirst, I hope you’ve all had a safe and wonderful New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. 🙂 For the first time, I spent the final day of a year writing. It was awesome! I really connected with my muse and had a lot of fun creating different worlds and characters. Of course, this was mostly because I slacked during the year on #AStoryAWeek.

What was #AStoryAWeek? It was a challenge issued by a writer friend of mine to write a new story every week of 2014. I’m thinking I will not do that again, but it was a great challenge to try. It made me let go and just create, something I have a hard time with occasionally. Once I completed it, I sat back and took stock of my year what I want to do in 2015.

One thing I want to do is self-publish a work again. I don’t mean putting a short story up on my blog or wattpad, I mean something a little longer, with a cover and everything. My publisher encourages people to do that in order to have different experiences in the publishing world. It helps us learn and grow as authors.

So, with all that in mind: what is one thing you want to do in 2015? What is something you’ll do this year to challenge yourself? Comment and let me know– I’d love to hear about it! I’m opening a thread in the FWA Facebook group once a week where people can check in and talk about their goals, how it’s progressing, and get advice. I hope you’ll join us and make 2015 your year!

See you next time,

Jamie

PS: If you’re looking to add some events to your calendar for 2015, check out the second annual Venice mini-conference! There will be several presenters there teaching workshops on article writing, poetry, and short stories. It’s not just a great way to learn from people in the business, but it’s also a great way to connect with fellow writers. If this sounds like something you’d be interested in, you can register here. Here are the details:

2nd Annual Short Shorts Mini-Conference

Bentley’s Boutique Hotel

1660 South Tamiami Trail

Osprey, Florida 34229

Tracks: Magazine articles, Poetry, Short stories (including flash fiction)

Comments are closed.

